The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Boxer 1900cc Symbol fuel consumption

+9
tomjoad
-mojo-
Spospe
modelman
boxerman
Dutto
johnandeva
dennissue
Gordon Galsworthy
13 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Boxer 1900cc Symbol fuel consumption Empty Boxer 1900cc Symbol fuel consumption

Post by Gordon Galsworthy Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:21 pm

I am new to autosleepers but I believe I am not getting very good mpg. The exhaust pipe outlet is quite black. Is this a symptom that engine is running too rich. Can anyone give me any help on improving please. Thank You
Gordon Galsworthy
Gordon Galsworthy

Male

Member Age : 78
Auto-Sleeper Model : Symbol

Back to top Go down

Boxer 1900cc Symbol fuel consumption Empty Re: Boxer 1900cc Symbol fuel consumption

Post by dennissue Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:17 pm

Hi, What sort of \mpg are you getting? We get around 24 ish with our harmony on petrol and around 20 on LPG. The first thing to check is the air filter as it may be clogged up.
dennissue
dennissue

Male

Member Age : 76
Auto-Sleeper Model : Harmony

Back to top Go down

Boxer 1900cc Symbol fuel consumption Empty Re: Boxer 1900cc Symbol fuel consumption

Post by johnandeva Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:22 pm

Hi Gordon, welcome to the forum, I have a 99 symbol, 1.9 petrol, last time I checked I was getting 23 mpg, I normally stick to 60 mph on motorways, if we are  going down your way I will push to 70 to get some miles out the way, once we get past Bristol we relax a bit, hope you enjoy your symbol as much as we do, I like to keep her moving through the winter, keeps the batteries charged up., all the best to everyone on the forum and give us a wave, johnandeva lets_dance
johnandeva
johnandeva

Male

Member Age : 73

Back to top Go down

Post by Dutto Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:44 pm

Hi there,

I presume that it is a diesel engine and if it is then having a black exhaust pipe is normal.