The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Warwick XL - Gauge of the solar connection?

+2
Dbvwt
gobsmacked
6 posters

Go down

Warwick XL - Gauge of the solar connection?  Empty Warwick XL - Gauge of the solar connection?

Post by gobsmacked Thu Sep 23, 2021 5:59 pm

Good evening,

In our Warwick XL 2018 we have a standard 90W solar panel.
Since we are about to replace our panels I was wondering if I could manage to re-use the current wires if I can keep the Amps down in our new installation
Does anybody know the size of the installed wires? Could they be 1,5 mm2? Or even better 2,5mm2?

Thanks a lot for any input

Other / Decline to state

Auto-Sleeper Model : Warwick XL
Vehicle Year : 2018

Back to top Go down

Warwick XL - Gauge of the solar connection?  Empty Re: Warwick XL - Gauge of the solar connection?

Post by Dbvwt Thu Sep 23, 2021 6:10 pm

I’m no expert but I’m looking at adding a second 80w panel to the existing 80w panel (I’m guessing yours is 80w not 90w).
I can’t answer your question specifically but Greyhound has added an extra 80w panel and used the existing cable without issue as far as I’m aware.

Personally, I’m just going to run the cable that will come with the new panel down into the van and join them in parallel very near the controller.
Overkill?  Quite possibly but I know I won’t have to worry smile!
Dbvwt
Dbvwt

Male

Auto-Sleeper Model : Symbol

Back to top Go down

Warwick XL - Gauge of the solar connection?  Empty Re: Warwick XL - Gauge of the solar connection?

Post by gobsmacked Thu Sep 23, 2021 7:15 pm

We are going to replace our 80W (you were right, not 90W) with 2 x 105 semiflexible Sunpower based Solara Power M  S465M34 [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

These will be managed by a Victron MPTT SmartSolar 75/15