The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Rear shocks for a Symbol?

3 posters

Go down

Rear shocks for a Symbol?  Empty Rear shocks for a Symbol?

Post by gripped Wed Aug 31, 2022 8:10 pm

Hi all

I'm a newbie to the forum, though have owned an AS for a couple of years now. Prior to that we had 2 Mazda bongos, but Mrs G wanted a toilet and more home comforts!

Anyway, I'm in the middle of changing the rear shocks (leaking oil) on our 2014 Symbol with the air bag spring assisters, and had a couple of questions.

1. I wanted to know whether the shocks are the standard ones fitted to the base van or if AS changed them during the build?   I'm assuming they are the standard ones, but want to check before I order.  As you'll probably know, the Symbol is a van conversion, not coach built. 

2. And secondly, can anyone recommend any rear shocks ? The OEM ones are around £130 each, but you can get pattern parts for £40 - £60.  I'd like something of reasonable quality, but don't really want to shell out on main dealer prices.  There seems to be loads of choice, but not sure where to start.  One thing I do know is that the shocks are the compressed gas type (with damping oil).  A search on GSF shows only oil versions.

The part number on the 'Sevel' originals is 1362579080 - which I understand may be the same as a 5206TS (OEM Peugeot P/N).  I've also been told that 1623335580 is an aftermarket option.

Any advice welcome. up!
Many thanks.
gripped
gripped

Male

Auto-Sleeper Model : Symbol
Vehicle Year : 2014

Back to top Go down

Rear shocks for a Symbol?  Empty Re: Rear shocks for a Symbol?

Post by Bartfarst Wed Aug 31, 2022 8:38 pm

Welcome to the forum!