The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Advice for buying a second hand Duetto/Symbol

+2
Bulletguy
booms81
6 posters

Go down

Advice for buying a second hand Duetto/Symbol Empty Advice for buying a second hand Duetto/Symbol

Post by booms81 Sat Aug 22, 2020 10:15 am

Hi all,

Looking for some general tips/thoughts on buying a Symbol or Duetto, probably looking for something for a 2004 vintage or so, ideally for around £16k from a dealer with a warranty.

We could pay a fair amount more, but it doesn't seem worth it (to me!) for all the extra depreciation cost. Something in this sort of price range seems to have a fairly stable price, and getting parts shouldn't be too much of a problem.

I'm a total novice when it comes to all the things that can go wrong, so my thought is to buy from a dealer with a full habitation check and a warranty so that any initial teething issues can be sorted out easily. I suppose to that end I'm looking for a used dealer with an excellent reputation.

Any other thoughts on anything I could be missing?

There seems to be a price premium at the moment, so I'm happy to put off buying for a few months. The plan is to use the vehicle as our daily run about and for long multi-month road trips.
booms81
booms81

Male

Auto-Sleeper Model : Duetto
Vehicle Year : 2000

Back to top Go down

Advice for buying a second hand Duetto/Symbol Empty Re: Advice for buying a second hand Duetto/Symbol

Post by Bulletguy Sat Aug 22, 2020 2:24 pm

booms81 wrote:I'm a total novice when it comes to all the things that can go wrong, so my thought is to buy from a dealer with a full habitation check and a warranty so that any initial teething issues can be sorted out easily. I suppose to that end I'm looking for a used dealer with an excellent reputation.

The plan is to use the vehicle as our daily run about and for long multi-month road trips.