The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hot water taps not pumping

4 posters

Go down

Hot water taps not pumping Empty Hot water taps not pumping

Post by NigelNomad Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:17 am

Hi All,

I've been prepping our new (1998) Topaz ready for our first night away in it this weekend and I've found a slight problem. The cold water is pumping ok but the hot water doesn't appear to pump. I've heated the water and initially I get some hot water coming out of the sink tap but it's not pumped so just trails off to no flow. There must be some pressure building up for the small amount of water to come out but I can't work out how to get the hot water to pressurise.  I've tried opening a hot and cold tap in the hope that pumping the cold might encourage some flow into the hot feed but no joy. As a complete newbie (with no instructions!) I suspect it's down to my lack of understanding so hoping one of you clever people can advise on the correct process?

Thanks in advance
Nigel
NigelNomad
NigelNomad

Male

Member Age : 56
Auto-Sleeper Model : Topaz
Vehicle Year : 1998

Back to top Go down

Hot water taps not pumping Empty Re: Hot water taps not pumping

Post by boxerman Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:32 am

Did it work OK previously?
If it did, and it is a Carver cascade heater, then it could be the non-return valve on the water inlet stuck.
Or it could be a kinked / blocked hot water pipe, as the cold water is flowing OK, it sounds like the pump is working as it should.

Frank
boxerman
boxerman
Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 77
Auto-Sleeper Model : '95 Symphony
Vehicle Year : 1995

Back to top Go down

Post by NigelNomad Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:50 am