The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

WHAT BIKE RACK?

+3
fenderbender
Maasai Warrior
janniecop
7 posters

Go down

WHAT BIKE RACK? Empty WHAT BIKE RACK?

Post by janniecop Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:43 am

Hi, I am a newbie and about to buy a Boxer Symbol and want a bike rack for 2 bikes. I read a posting on-line that some owners have experienced slippage and door damage with the Fiamma rack. Should I ignore this or try a Thule door mounted rack or go to the expense of fitting a TOWBAR and use a tow ball rack?? scratch head confused3 Any advice would be gratefully received, Cheers, John happyyes

Last edited by janniecop on Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:45 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Typo)
janniecop
janniecop

Male

Member Age : 71
Auto-Sleeper Model : Symbol
Vehicle Year : 2015

Back to top Go down

WHAT BIKE RACK? Empty Re: WHAT BIKE RACK?

Post by Maasai Warrior Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:09 am

If you go down the tow bar route, look at Wesfalia's tow bar racks, very well made and folds up smaller than Thule's possibly.
Bought one recently for our car. Our coachbuilt van has the usual Fiamma cycle rack.

Pete
Maasai Warrior
Maasai Warrior
Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 73
Auto-Sleeper Model : Ex Broadway EB owner
Vehicle Year : Mar 2014

Back to top Go down

Post by janniecop Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:14 am

Thanks! 
John
janniecop
janniecop

Male

Back to top Go down

Post by fenderbender Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:59 am

Hi, i have a fiamma rack on my symphony, when i have two mountain bikes on it the back door certainly flexes a bit if i hit a pothole or go over a bump, it has'nt done any damage though. I think the weight limit is about 30 kilos and that is what my two bikes weigh, i would have gone for lighter ones if i had realised.

Dave
fenderbender
fenderbender
Donator
Donator

Male

Auto-Sleeper Model : Transit
Vehicle Year : 2013

Back to top Go down