The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Advice for Newbie

+5
Teresa Cambell
Minniesmum
-mojo-
Dutto
rhubarb93
9 posters

Go down

Advice for Newbie Empty Advice for Newbie

Post by rhubarb93 Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:18 am

Does anyone live at all near me, in Surrey (New Malden, near Kingston)?
I've just bought an Autosleeper Trooper. To be honest, as well as excited, I am also feeling a bit nervous. I'm a complete newbie to this, and I bought privately, not from a dealer. I thought all the electrics, gas etc would all be really simple to use, but I've got a huge folder of manuals for all the kit, and don't know where to start getting to grips with it all. think_smiley_46
If any kind member felt like giving me a guided tour of my new toy, I'd really appreciate it! drinksallround

rhubarb93
rhubarb93

Female

Member Age : 72
Auto-Sleeper Model : Trooper
Vehicle Year : 1994

Back to top Go down

Advice for Newbie Empty Re: Advice for Newbie

Post by Dutto Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:42 am

Hi there,

It really is a great feeling; excitement and a tinge of fear!

The stacks of Manual's are most often there for when you have a problem. You are lucky to have them so treasure them and keep them nice and safe.

In the meantime, before some gallant knight in shining armour comes to your rescue, I suggest that you sit in the van and read the Manuals one-by-one as you go through everything.

Use a notebook as you go as the exercise serves two purposes:

1. It familiarises you with what you have in the van (and you will be surprised at how much you will pick up, and how much you already know, as you wade through them).

2. Take notes a) For things you don't know and need advice on. and b) For things that you must NEVER forget to do before setting off.

You may then find that the list of things you need advice on are so small that a Post on the Forum will get you all the help you need.