The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fairford - Swap to a Gel Leisure battery

+7
Toffee
Kdc
IanH
inspiredron
Roopert
Bilbobaggins
gadgetrip
11 posters

Go down

Fairford - Swap to a Gel Leisure battery Empty Fairford - Swap to a Gel Leisure battery

Post by gadgetrip Thu Oct 13, 2022 4:39 pm

Hi,

I'm not too tech savvy and relaly quite new to campers.
Our Fairford (2018) leisure battery was allowed to drop below 50% for some time and is now basically fried!

Due to various circumstances we are going to have to live in our camper for some time.
This will mean we can't always guarantee to be hooked up so a decent leisure battery is a must.

Unfortunately, lithium isn't an option due to price.
I've read Gel are good for off grid use as they can go down to 20%.

My question is, can I just do a straight swap to a Gel from the standard battery or are there changes that need to be made to the battery charger?
It also has a solar panel (not sure if that makes a difference!).

Getting quite anxious to sort this as we only have a week before we need to move in and all places local are stacked out so this is a job I'm going to have to do myself :(

Many thanks is advance
gadgetrip
gadgetrip

Male

Auto-Sleeper Model : Fairford
Vehicle Year : 2018

Back to top Go down

Fairford - Swap to a Gel Leisure battery Empty Re: Fairford - Swap to a Gel Leisure battery

Post by Bilbobaggins Thu Oct 13, 2022 4:52 pm

Couldn't give a definitive answer, but if you use the search box at top right of page you will probably find helpful information

Donator
Donator

Male

Auto-Sleeper Model : Warwick xl
Vehicle Year : 2014

Back to top Go down

Fairford - Swap to a Gel Leisure battery Empty Re: Fairford - Swap to a Gel Leisure battery

Post by Roopert Thu Oct 13, 2022 5:31 pm