The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Driving with fridge on gas

+7
rogerblack
Peter Brown
boxerman
Paulmold
Gromit
bikeralw
Nickji
11 posters

Go down

Driving with fridge on gas Empty Driving with fridge on gas

Post by Nickji Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:12 pm

Is there any reason to switch from gas to 12 volt while driving short distances?  Seems ok to me but I’m new to the autosleeper world. Any thoughts?”
Nickji
Nickji

Male

Member Age : 79
Auto-Sleeper Model : Duetto
Vehicle Year : 1998

Back to top Go down

Driving with fridge on gas Empty Re: Driving with fridge on gas

Post by bikeralw Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:39 pm

Several reasons really.
Driving any distance with appliances running on gas is a fire risk if you're involved in an accident. You're really supposed to turn the gas off at the bottle (or tank if fitted), but in practice most folk just turn the valves off inside the van unless you're boarding a ferry. Secondly you're effectively running the fridge for free when on 12 volts, I know you don't get something for nothing, but running on gas will be more expensive than a slight reduction in MPG. Lastly, I would've thought that the draught produced when driving at any speed will most likely extinguish the gas flame.
Al.
bikeralw
bikeralw
Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 73
Auto-Sleeper Model : Nuevo
Vehicle Year : 2004

Back to top Go down

Post by Gromit Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:15 pm

And last of all, very few vans will allow the fridge to work on gas when you are driving - and for a further 20 minutes after you stop. (The 20 minutes is to ensure you don't pull into a filling station with a naked flame near the petrol vapours!!  rolleyes)