The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Boxer 2004 Rear Brakes 30% Unbalanced

5 posters

Go down

Boxer 2004 Rear Brakes 30% Unbalanced Empty Boxer 2004 Rear Brakes 30% Unbalanced

Post by troikafloyd Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:54 am

Hi all,

My 2004 Peugeot Boxer 290 Symbol has just had an advisory on it's MOT regarding the rear brakes......"rear brake imbalance of 30%".
I am getting a squealing noise when applying brakes and also a 'pull' over to the left when driving.....could the 'pull' be attributed to the imbalance on the rear, although I don't see how?
I have recently had the front pads replaced but was getting the squeal before this.

Has anyone had this problem before regarding imbalance?

Also, is there a video out there to show removal / replacement of rear brakes, drums etc on a Peugeot boxer as I am no expert but want to clean/replace them etc and Haynes annoyingly don't seem to publish a manual for the Boxer.

Any help on this matter will be gratefully received!!
troikafloyd

Male

Member Age : 66
Auto-Sleeper Model : SYMBOL

Back to top Go down

Boxer 2004 Rear Brakes 30% Unbalanced Empty Re: Boxer 2004 Rear Brakes 30% Unbalanced

Post by boxerman Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:51 am

If your rear drum brakes are like my 1995 ones then there is nothing complex about them, the Peter Russek manual might not be up to Haynes' standard but it has the info you require.
The only problem you might come across is a corrosion ridge on the bit of the drum where the shoes don't rub. This can prevent the drums from coming off [or worse - jamming half way off].

Frank
boxerman
boxerman
Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 77
Auto-Sleeper Model : '95 Symphony
Vehicle Year : 1995

Back to top Go down

Boxer 2004 Rear Brakes 30% Unbalanced Empty Re: Boxer 2004 Rear Brakes 30% Unbalanced

Post by troikafloyd Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:16 pm